Chapitre Treize : How to do a solo Thanksgiving

Now I’m sure most of you may immediately say, “Hell no!” to my title.

We all know that this Thanksgiving is not like the rest. It’s one of the first major (family centered) Americanized holiday we’ve had since the pandemic started. But I’m here to tell you why being alone this Thanksgiving, or not having the “traditional” one that you’re used to, is okay!

This is the Thanksgiving we’ve all been waiting for… You get to eat as much as you want IN WHATEVER YOU WANT. Yeah you heard me right, no more unbuttoning to make room for seconds or thirds. I’ll personally be rocking some sweatpants and bunny slippers.

Your house, your menu! Yes, that may mean no turkey (future environmentalist?) and none of your family’s killer Italian stuffing… But if you want to eat an entire pie or sweet potato casserole, I fully endorse it! …and will be doing the same. Scroll down for a couple of my favorite recipes I’ll be making this year.

It’s not so lonely with calls and video chats, so plan some! With the Zoom call limit of 40 minutes taken away today, you’ll have ample time to have your great aunt remind the crowd of your single status AND get into a long “discussion” about politics with your uncles!

Not having a holiday party doesn’t take away the joy in being thankful! So get out your pie and fork, put on the Thanksgiving parade, and call the loved ones that you know will be alone this year. Let’s celebrate taking care of one another by being responsible this year.

And last but not least, here comes the food! *warning these are all vegetarian 😉

  • Wild Mushroom Stuffing! This recette reminds me the most of a version my brother made last year with me in France!
  • Don’t forget the greens with Bon App’s Green Bean Casserole
  • My personal favorite pie is pumpkin, which is overwhelmingly difficult to find (canned or whole) in France.
  • So if you’re looking to experiment with the pies, like I have to, take a try at these mini sweet potato pies. Want to get even mo fancy with it? The crust on this rustic apple tarte always gets a good response… even from the French.

I hope that you still gain a pound this year, gros bisous !

Leave a comment